Chambers and Stoltz win NYWA State

by tobin on April 8th, 2016

Charlie Chambers and Riley Stoltz brought home NYWA State title hardware after winning their respective weight brackets.  In addition, Stoltz claimed the 7-8th Grade Outstanding Wrestler award by pinning all four of his opponents.  In the K-4th Grade State competition, JT Hausen and Bo Bokman each took 4th Place and Logan Vargo placed 6th.  In the NYWA Invite, the Green Machine had three more place-winners.  Aiden Tobin won his weight bracket, while Sam LaCanne and Bryce Nolen took 3rd Place.
The 7-8th Grade Team won three duals over the weekend to finish 10th out of the 32-team state team tournament.  The team also won the Paul Wolfe Sportsmanship Award.

NYWA State this weekend!

by tobin on March 29th, 2016

In addition to the 7-8th Grade team wrestling at NYWA State this weekend, the Green Machine will have four individuals wrestling in the 7-8th state tournament and three more in the K-6th state tournament.  Bo Bokman and Charlie Chambers advanced to NYWA State with first-place finishes at NYWA Regions, while Riley Stoltz, JT Hausen, and Elliott Viland advanced with second-place finishes.  Madden Paul and Will Erickson advance with third-place finishes.  Also wrestling this weekend at the NYWA Invite tournament by placing 4-6th place at NYWA Regions are Jayden Jirele, Logan Vargo, Trevor Holmberg, Cole Redding, Aiden Tobin, Bryce Nolen, Dylan Lippert, and Alex Hoy.  The 7-8th Grade Team will wrestle on Thursday and Friday afternoon.

Advancing to NYWA State are in the front row: Madden Paul, Bo Bokman, Elliott Viland, and JT Hausen.  Back row: Riley Stoltz, Will Erickson, and Charlie Chambers.

The 7-8th Grade team will wrestle this weekend at NYWA State pictured in front row: Riley Stoltz, Aiden Tobin, Jax Bokman, Cole Redding, Alex Hoy, and Sam LaCanne.  Back row: Bryce Nolen, Will Erickson, Dylan Lippert, Charlie Chambers, and Josh Oathoudt.  Not pictured: Gael Ramirez.

23 qualify for NYWA Regions

by tobin on March 18th, 2016

The Green Machine qualified 23 youth wrestlers from the districts qualifier tournaments.  They will wrestle in Bryon this weekend, 3/18 and 3/19, at the NYWA Regions.  Grades 5-8 will wrestle on Friday evening, while Grades K-4 will wrestle on Saturday.  The top 3 in each respective age/weight class will advance to NYWA State which takes place March 31-April 3.  Pictured are in front row: Cole Redding, JT Hausen, Elliott Viland, Isaac Yetzer, Tayten Fierst, Blake Judd, Jayden Jirele, Trevor Holmberg, and Madden Paul.  Back row: Charlie Chambers, Bryce Nolan, Alex Hoy, Dylan Lippert, Riley Stoltz, and Marcos Ramirez.  Not pictured: Will Erickson, Sam LaCanne, Aiden Tobin, Hunter Conrad, Jayce Kaderlik, Cooper Leichtnam, and Logan Vargo.

20 youth qualify for MNUSA State

by tobin on March 9th, 2016

A club-record 20 youth wrestlers will qualified for the MNUSA State Tournament (takes place at Rochester Community College this weekend March 11-13).  Those wrestling at MNUSA State are pictured in front row: Bo Bokman, Elliott Viland, Tayten Fierst, Logan Vargo, Trevor Holmberg, JJ Reuvers, Blake Judd, Carter Kanzenbach, and Corbin Donkers.  Back row: Cole Redding, Marcos Ramirez, Hunter Conrad, Aiden Tobin, Charlie Chambers, Will Erickson, JT Hausen, Chase Kanzenbach, and Jayce Kaderlik.  Not pictured: Mason Kanzenbach and Wyatt Adamek.

Unseeded Santiago takes 4th at State; Mullennex places 6th

by tobin on March 1st, 2016

After an opening round loss and waiting around to see if he’d even get a second match, senior heavyweight Edwin Santiago won three straight consolation matches before losing to take 4th place at State.  Senior Ryan Mullennex was seeded second at 160 lbs but after an overtime loss in the quarterfinals, Mullennex needed to overcome a knee injury to battle back for a 6th place finish.  Junior Felipe Ramirez made it to Day 2 but fell one match short of placing, while senior Isaac Van Thomme’s season came to an end on the first day.

link to Daily News story

Four to State! Mullennex wins 160 lb title at Section 1AAA

by tobin on February 21st, 2016

The Falcons will be sending four individuals to the State Tournament after a strong showing at the Section 1AAA indvidual tournament.  Ryan Mullennex breezed his way through the 160 pound bracket with all pins and tech falls.  Felipe Ramirez, Isaac Van Thomme, and Edwin Santiago finished second place to advance to State.  Four other Falcons fell just short by placing third and losing their bid in their true-second matches were Cain Van Ryn, Tony Avila, Charlie Chambers, and Austin Rendler.  Riley Stoltz and Ren Ross each took home fourth place, while Josh Oathoudt, Josh Heyda, and Dillon McEachran all came back with fifth-place finishes.  That is 13 individuals coming home with hardware!  Good luck at State to Ryan, Felipe, Ike, and Edwin!!!

link to AAA State brackets

link to State Tournament Schedule

  • Friday 11:00 AM – Class AAA individual first round
  • Friday 5:30 PM – Class AAA individual quarterfinals
  • Friday 7:30 PM – individual consolation wrestlebacks
  • Saturday 10:45 AM – All Classes individual semifinals
  • Saturday 12:45 PM – All Classes consolation semifinals
  • Saturday 4:30 PM – 3rd and 5th Place matches
  • Saturday 7:00 PM – Individual Championships


link to Section 1AAA individual brackets

Youth champions over Feb 20-21 weekend

by tobin on February 20th, 2016

The Green Machine participated in tournaments at Waseca and Owatonna over the February 20-21 weekend.  The champions were: Blake Judd, Mason Kanzenbach, Elliott Viland, Mac Louis, Bo Bokman, Trevor Holmberg, and Logan Vargo (pictured at bottom).